Out This Month! – Blogtober Challenge

Hi guys! It’s been a while since I did a ‘Out this month’ post, but there are just too many awesome books being released in October that I just couldn’t resist. I can already see Autumn is on its way, the leaves are turning, the nights are getting colder and to top it all off I had to de-ice my car this morning. Autumn/Winter are definitely my favourite seasons. I thrive in the cold and love nothing more than snuggling up in a big jumper or blanket and finding somewhere cosy to read. Do you like the Autumn months? What is your favourite thing about them? Let me know in the comments.

By the way I’ve decided to take a few #BlogTober prompts from Haf and Anniek’s Blogtober challenge. I wont be taking part in every one, but some of their prompts are simply too good to pass up! If you want to see their ideas, or maybe take part yourself you can find the post here.

Angel Mage – Garth Nix

Released yesterday, this has become one of my favourite fantasy books! Loosely based on the Three Musketeers, the story follows four strangers who are inexplicably drawn to each other, and one woman who is the reason behind it all. I flew through these pages and found myself inexplicably amused most of the way through. With a brilliantly written magic system and characters you cant help but adore, get out there are pick this one up!

Into The Crooked Place – Alexandra Christo

This is such a fun fantasy read, and perfect for fans of Six of Crows. We get an unruly band of misfits, with some questionable morals on a perilous journey to save their city, and potentially the world. Full of witty banter, an f/f romance arc and some truly immersive magic, be sure to pick this one up when it it released!

Sisters of Shadow and Light – Sara B. Larson

I just finished this book yesterday and it was amazing! I had an idea of how the story would pan out before starting but I couldn’t have been more wrong. Larson creates a fully immersive fantasy world, with a fresh and intriguing magic system and characters that you bond with instantly. I need the next book in my hands now, but I will have to make do with delving into her other works for the time being.

Light at the Bottom of the World – London Shah

Out at the end of the month I have been dying to get my hands on this book since it was announced. An underwater London, corrupt government, hot-headed companion. I am here for it, and it helps that one of my favourite authors Samantha Shannon has also highly rated it.

Ninth House – Leigh Bardugo

I’m not going to lie. I would pick up pretty much anything that miss Bardugo writes, but this just sounds amazing. Her first foray into adult fantasy and set amongst the secret societies of Yale. I’ve heard mixed reviews about it, however, they haven’t dimmed my excitement and I am trying to fly through my backlog of ARC’s to make sure I can pick this up as soon as it is released.

The Never Tilting World – Rin Chupeco

This book blew me away. Such a rich and immersive fantasy world, with beautifully written characters, and f/f romance and a story that has you hooked from the first few pages. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing and a cliff-hanger ending that leaves you wanting more. I will definitely be picking up the sequel.

The Beautiful – Renee Ahdieh

Looking to be transported to New Orleans, want a book with a intricately written romance, looking for beautifully written characters that keep you guessing. Then this is the book for you. Though I wouldn’t say the romance was as heavy as Ahdieh’s other books. I was dragged into New Orleans and the dangers of Celine’s world, and the romance felt slightly more realistic to me.

Fireborne – Rosaria Munda

I mean, it has a dragon on the cover so I was pretty much sold from that. Described as Game of Thrones meets Red Rising ( I know right!) with rivalry and romance this book sounds right up my street.

The Burning Shadow – Jennifer L. Armentrout

I thoroughly enjoyed my first foray into the Lux last year with The Darkest Star, and I am looking forward to diving back in. These are really easy and fun reads, with swoon worthy romance and characters you cant help but bond with. I cant wait to follow Evelyn’s story line.

Gravemaidens – Kelly Coon

I was already excited to pick this one up, but then Susan over at Novel Lives wrote a few posts and had a chat with the author (here) which made me want to read it even more. The synopsis sounds really intriguing and I will definitely be making this one of my October buys.

Ok! So those are my most anticipated books out this month. Are you dying to read any of these? Or are there any you think I might have missed off? Let me know in the comments.

5 thoughts on “Out This Month! – Blogtober Challenge”

      1. Yeah. Especially when you are going to Colorado. Although I would’ve gone either way because I A) I don’t do holidays and B) I was getting out of here as soon as I could snow or no snow. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s