Topic Tuesday! My favourite reads of 2018

Hello fellow bookworms! 2018 has been an amazing year for book releases, I managed to complete my Goodreads challenge by reading 73/60 books, and I still have a couple on the go that I’m sure I’ll finish before the new year. This has been the hardest post to narrow down because I loved nearly all the books I’ve read, but putting all 73 feels like I would be going overboard, so I will focus on my top 10 books that I read and loved in 2018. What were some of your favourite reads of 2018? Let me know in the comments.

 

Skyward by Brandon Sanderson

I loved this book! I have been a fan of Sanderson’s books ever since I read his Mistborn trilogy, so when I found out he was starting a new YA Sci-Fi series I knew I had to get my hands on a copy. It is such a fun read, and though it is advertised as YA I think it will be a perfect read for Sci-Fi fans of any age. You can find my full review and here me gush about it some more here.

Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa

I’ve never read any of Kagawa’s other books but if this is anything to go by I will definitely be adding them to my TBR for next year. One of the best Asian inspired fantasy novels I have ever read. Everything about this book is perfect from the setting to the folklore and the characters, the only thing I don’t like is having to wait so long for the next instalment! You can read my full review for it here.

Eleanor Oliphant is completely fine by Gail Honeyman

This isn’t a book I would normally pick up for myself but a friend of mine pestered and pestered until I eventually gave in and read it. I’m so glad I did, this is the beautiful, sad and sometimes hilarious story of Eleanor Oliphant, a woman who sits somewhere on the Autism scale, and how she traverses the modern world. This book is fantastic and a must read for anyone who wants and insight into Autism, or simply if you want a book that will make you laugh and cry at the same time.

Air Awakens by Elise Kova

I loved the whole Air Awakens series, but there is just something about the first in a series that made me include this one on the list. Vhalla is an amazing heroine, and she fast became one of my favourite female literary characters. This is an amazing fantasy series perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Leigh Bardugo. Kova is currently writing a follow up series and I cant wait to get my hands on it.

The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden

I cant describe how much I love this series. I read The Bear and the Nightingale last year and fell in love with Vasilisa. These books are so beautifully written and weave together Russian Folklore effortlessly to make for an amazing story. The last book in the trilogy is out next year and part of me doesn’t want this series to end… the other part of me needs to get my hands on it now!

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I actually started reading this book in 2017 but barely made it through the first chapter before giving up. However, I was told to stick with it and after picking it up again I am so glad I did. This is an amazingly fresh YA Fantasy novel. Mia is an amazing character, definite anti-hero and some of the dialogue between her and Mr Kindly made me laugh out loud. Though not for the faint-hearted I would highly recommend this if you like a character with shaky morals and fantastic wit. You can find my full review for it here.

Traitors Blade by Sebastien De Castell

I was pretty much hooked from the first chapter with this book, and the rest of the series did not let me down. The Greatcoat series is one of my top of the year and I blitzed through all the books in a week. If you love books with morally loose character’s with amazing wit and the ability to win massively against the odds then this is the series for you!

City of Brass by S A Chakraborty

I received an ARC of this through an Illumicrate box and it took me far too long to pick it up. You can really feel the Authors grasp of Middle Eastern Folklore when you read it and she brings all the amazing creatures to life. I recently read Kingdom of Copper and It is just as good as the first book. A must read for anyone who like Middle Eastern Fantasy.

Mirage by Somaiya Daud

This book is the perfect blend of Sci-Fi and Fantasy. Such an amazing debut novel, Daud uses her lyrical writing style to imbue the importance of Family and Culture. This book also contains a fantastic romance arc that I fell head over heels for. If you haven’t already read this book you should definitely add it to your TBR.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

I Ummed and Ahhd for so long over picking up this series and I finally gave in and bought the first book, and then hours later I bought the second! These are such fun reads, epic adventure, magic, amazing heroines and a bad guy you cant help but love a little. Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and the third instalment, Bloodwitch, is out in 2019 so you have plenty of time to catch up.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s